Ratings and Testimonials

We hope you enjoy your stay with us like so many of our customers have done... 

Our Ratings

Here is a summary of what our customers have rated us:

4.6/5 on Google Reviews 
8.5/10 on Booking.com 
5/6 on LateRooms.com  
7.5/10 on Trivago
3.8/5 on Expedia
4.0/5 on Trip Advisor

(Last Updated: 01st July  2019)

Our Testimonials:

The Briary has for years provided a guests with an enjoyable stay with us. Don't believe us? Have a look at some of our glowing testimonials below to show you why we are rated so highly on several review platforms by our customers.
"Awesome"

Posted June 2019

"Very Cosy. Gives one a feeling of home away from home. The staff are very friendly. The owner, Sal, was very helpful and assisted us in anyway he could. All in all, we will definitely be back!"

"Great Stay"

Posted May 2019

"My friend and I stayed for two nights to enjoy the Snooker World Championship. Sal and his wife provided excellent service, breakfast was just great and the room was clean and comfortable. The atmosphere was very welcoming and the facilities just as described".


"Would recommend"

Posted March 2019

"Good location; only 5 or 10 mins drive to the Peak district. Good, friendly service and excellent breakfast.  The room and en-suite were very clean, but were coming up to needing a bit of a refurbishment (e.g. crack in sink), but all kept beautifully clean.  All in all, good value for money and I would stay there again or recommend friends and family". 


"Our recent trip to Sheffield"

Posted February 2019

"Staff are lovely, welcoming and friendly. Check in was quick, ample parking and location was great. Enjoyed a full English cooked breakfast with fresh coffee and juice. Lots of variety for breakfast, you really are spoilt for choice. Would highly recommend and will definitely be returning myself. Bedroom was comfortable and bathroom was spotless". 


"Superb"

Posted January 2019

"The breakfast was great. Staff were helpful and friendly. The room was spacious"


"Exceptional"

Posted December 2018

"Sal was a wonderful host and extremely hospitable. Thank you! The room was clean and has a very, very comfortable bed. A delightful place to stay".


"Peaceful and relaxing"

Posted November 2018
“The owners Sal and his wife were very accommodating. The bed was comfortable, room was spacious and could have breakfast when I wanted it rather than being a set time such as between 7 and 9. There was plenty of choice for cereals as well as a cooked breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble. I will definitely be staying again".

"Excellent Service"

Posted October 2018
“I booked my parents into The Briary after reading the superb reviews it has received. Upon arrival the owner Sal made us feel very at home and was very friendly and hospitable. The room was very comfortable and my parents said they had a lovely nights sleep.The breakfast was excellent and plenty of it. I will definitely be booking with The Briary again,if not this year definitely next year. Thank you to the owners for ensuring my parents had a lovely break".


"Weekend Stay"

Posted September 2018

"Stayed over to watch the Arctic Monkeys last weekend. Sal the owner was very helpful with any requests given, I left my driving licence behind in the room and hes sent it out by post to me.... top man. The rooms where all kept nice and warm and beds were spot on" 


"Great stay"

Posted August 2018
“Lovely guest house, friendly welcome. Good location, walking distance to bars, cafes and shops. Good base for discovering the Peak District as we did. We had a warm welcome, the room was spacious, everything included for a great night's sleep. Breakfast good. Nice place and nice people. Definitely would return".


"Very nice stay"

Posted June 2018
"Clean and simple nice staff. I had my dog there worked perfectly. The breakfast was served quickly and was great as well. Will recommend a stay any time. I has in particular happy I could bring my dog. Also parking is fine and secure".

"Overnight stay, Perfect Choice"

Posted May 2018
" Booked at short notice for a very hectic Bank holiday Sunday stay,  I'm a picky customer having worked in the Hotel industry in the past, i must say from the outset... Owner communicated very well, sat nav straight to the location. On arrival welcomed and shown around this huge old house set on a quiet street with off street parking available, a bonus for us, the house whilst old possibly Victorian and furnished to compliment, is spotlessly clean and the owners extremely friendly, we were out until the early hours as were some other guests who were at the same music event which is not a problem we had access in the early hours, the place is safe and secure, Breakfast was superb and there was no rush for us to leave it was a great choice, really relaxing environment, top marks to Sal and family, if we stay in Sheffield again we will be back".


"Great location and made to feel most welcome"

Posted April 2018
"We stayed at the Briary after our daughter's wedding. Comfortable rooms and a good fully cooked breakfast"

"Value for money and would stay again"

Posted March 2018
"Comfortable and clean the staff were very helpful and accommodating. Everything was good nothing to complain about"

"Wonderful"

Posted February 2018
"Just used as an overnight stop. It was an old property that was nice and warm. A pleasant room. Overall pleasant stay"

"Great location and value for money"

Posted January 2018
"Set in a residential location, so nice and quiet. Good parking and close to Bramall Lane. Helpful owner. Delicious Breakfast. Great value for money"

"My Husband's 40th"

Posted December 2017
"This is a really nicely run B and B. Set in a beautiful garden with comfortable rooms it served as a good base for me and 9 of my friends for my husbands 40th birthday. Sal the owner, basically saved the day when I was let down last minute by an Airbnb host. He was really accommodating and flexible and made us all feel really welcome! I would definitely recommend!"  

"Lovely"

Posted 30 October 2017
We stayed just for the 1 night, As we were just going to a concert in the city centre, We had a lovely stay, the Hotel had plenty of charm and character, Sal the owner was a lovely person, made us feel very welcome and was most helpful and charming from start to finish, Nothing seems to much trouble, Helped with taxi booking which is only a short trip to the city centre, Literally 3 minutes away, breakfast was very nice, could'nt fault anything, i think its nice to support small local Hotels and Guesthouses as I think they do a wonderful job.The Price is very fair also. Many Thanks Sal and your Wonderful Staff. Kind Regards.

"Nice hotel friendly staff"

Posted 18 Oct 2017
Stayed here for four nights great value for money. Sal the owner very friendly and welcoming and did a good breakfast. Would stay again if I was in the area.

"One night stay for football at Sheffield United"

Posted 15 Oct 2017

Stayed here with my wife for the football and was apprehensive following some reviews. We need not have worried as customer care was first class including a phone call to confirm when we would be arriving. Location on a nice road and car parking on site a plus. Our room was comfortable although TV was a bit on the small side nevertheless adequate. Breakfast was very pleasant and all in all a very nice stay with a friendly host.

"Comfortable guest house, with great service".

Posted 16 Sept 2017
Owner was very polite and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was superb. The Briary is in a nice quiet location for those wanting to explore the local countryside, while being close enough to the city for anything they might need. We would definately stay there again on any future visit to this area.

"The owner was very welcoming and helpful"

Posted 11 Sept 2017
Spotlessly clean. Best night's sleep for a long time. Extremely comfortable bed. Would definitely stay there again when in Sheffield.

"Very good value"

Posted 04 Sept 2017
Booked at very short notice. Owner rang to say that he wasn't actually there that weekend but gave me very detailed instructions and reduced my already cheap rate to reflect having no breakfast available. Its relatively no frills but comfortable, clean, good value and has character.

"Excellent"

Posted 21 Aug 2017
The staff were very accommodating and friendly. The location was in a quiet area.

"Nice B&B"

Posted 11 Aug 2017
I stayed at Briary whilst visiting family, the proprietor couldn't be more helpful. I had booked a double room but due to disability unable to use the stairs, I was relocated to a ground level room. At breakfast time I was offered a variety of food from fruit, cereal and cooked breakfast, which was prepared as I requested due to dietary issues.









Very Helpful Host

Posted 04 Aug 2017
Had a hard time finding this hotel. The host was very helpful with directions, stayed up late for our arrival, etc. the next day he programmed our GPS for all the hotels on our trip.

"Very Comfortable Stay"

Posted 30 Jul 2017
"Clean, comfortable bed and room.Everything we wanted. Sal extremely helpful .Very pleasant stay.Good breakfast choice ,nice clean and tasty food. Service excellent. Excellent value for price.Would recommend."

"Friendly neighbourhood B&B"

Posted 07 Jul 2017
A friendly welcome as per before at this neighbourhood B&B, lovely quiet and safe area. Good value as it includes breakfast which is always good!

"Great Overnighter"

Posted 21 Jun 2017
Stayed one night only. Sal couldn't have been more helpful. Small car park at rear. Nice room and bathroom. Tea/coffee etc in room. Very quiet. Very good breakfast. Great value for money. Highly recommended.

"Excellent"

Posted 31 May 2017
Really nice little place. Decent little garden to veg in. Owner was helpful and accommodating. Reasonably priced. Will go back if I'm in Sheffield again.

"Great value!"

Posted 30 May 2017
Very nice hotel , made to feel very welcome & great value ! Not far out of Sheffield city centre only five minutes in a taxi & it's in a nice area too !  

"I had an interview at Sheffield Hallam"

Posted 18 May 2017

"The Briary is in a quiet location about 7 minutes ride in a taxi and it is situated on a beautiful road. The landlord, Sal was an excellent host and had been in communication prior to my arrival which was a nice hospitable gesture. The decor in the Briary is lovey and traditional and I was made to feel very welcome here. The room was spacious and very quiet and contained everything I needed. Sal as a host can not do enough for his guests and he helped with local knowledge on places to eat in the evening. Breakfast was lovely and despite my interview nerves the atmosphere was very pleasant. Other guests were chatty at breakfast, suggesting they also had experienced a lovely stay. Sal very kindly drove me to my interview and this was an extra touch to ensure guests have their needs met. I would strongly recommend anyone staying in Sheffield to stay here because it is lovely and for the price, it is more than well worth it".


"Thoroughly Recommended"

Posted 02 May 2017

Stayed for 2 nights this past weekend when I was in town for the snooker...the proprietor was extremely friendly and hospitable, the breakfast lovely and the room clean and quiet...what more could you want?

"A Good Value Hotel"
Posted 09 Apr 2017

We had a pleasant stay at the Briary Hotel, which was particularly convenient for us, as we were visiting family in the area. It is a period hotel, so not in the modern, contemporary style, but it has all the amenities required. We always try to be fair with reviews and certainly the en suite room we occupied was clean, comfortable and had tea and coffee facilities, TV and free Wi-Fi. There is a private on-site car park and the hotel is in a quiet residential area, with mature trees in the gardens. The proprietor Sal was extremely hospitable and helpful, and we believe that the accommodation represented good value.


Posted 27 Feb 2017

"
 Felt at home straight away nice warm rooms and the bed was so comfortable"

Posted 17 Oct 2016
"Owner was very welcoming and phoned day before with details of how to find. Great breakfast, comfortable room"

"Hidden gem for an overnight stay in Sheffield" 

Posted 12 Oct 2016
Location: Good bus service to city centre. Good local pubs (Broadfield, White Lion, Sheaf View, Brothers Arms) and excellent beer shop/tap room (Hop Hideout).
Very picturesque old building tucked away on the south side of Sheffield. Located in a quiet residential area - made for an excellent night's sleep. Room quite small but clean and equipped with everything I needed for my overnight stay - excellent shower. Owner very friendly and helpful - rang me in advance to see when I would be checking in, and gave me detailed directions to local concert venue when he heard I was down for a concert. Very relaxed atmosphere - check out when you want etc. Breakfast excellent - buffet then a 'Full English' cooked to order. Dining room very nice - like staying in someone's home. Overall, very good value for money, would definitely use the Briary again.

"Convenient, clean, good breakfast, friendly owner"

Posted 26 Sep 2016
Hotel Good location for the function at Baldwins

"Good and Hospitable

"

Posted 4 Jul 2016
Hotelier was great, very helpful. Overall for the price this was good value. It's not 5 star, but neither is t